Peace That Passes Our Understanding


Today we visited Cornersville First Baptist to worship. I enjoy going there because they are full of Baptist tradition and it reminds me of when I first accepted Jesus into my life. It was at a Baptist church. However, I claim no denomination because there are some doctrinal issues I have with all the churches I have attended. So I guess you’d consider me non-denom but I believe that is becoming a denomination within itself.

The pastor, who is a very good friend of mine, spoke about peace today. He challenged the church to keep in mind Jesus did not come into this world to give us peace as the world knows peace which is without war and strife. Rather he came to give us another type of peace. An eternal peace.

John 14:27 says, “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.”

As I sat and reflected on the peace given by Jesus, I felt the Holy Spirit remind me that Jesus is eternal and what he brings is also eternal. Therefore, the peace he gives us is an eternal peace.

Philippians 4:7 says,  “And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

By reading Philippians we see that the peace given to us passes understanding. In other words, when we feel the warmth of God’s peace come over us, it can leave us in awe because against all feelings we feel a something we shouldn’t. His peace stands in the face of conflict.

We can not understand eternity and the peace that Jesus gives us is eternal just as he is. Therefore, his gifts to us are difficult to wrap our minds around because even he is difficult to understand sometimes since we are finite and he is infinite. The peace he gives us is not understandable because eternity is not understandable.

So all we can do is trust that he is who he says he is and he will do what he said he will do and give us eternal blessings that last longer than worldly offerings.

 

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

